An administrator for Arcoro Time is a user who requires unrestricted access to Arcoro Time. There can be any number of administrators, and it is only limited by the number of employee licenses available in Arcoro Time. Any person interacting with Arcoro Time in any fashion will consume an employee license, even if they do not track their time. If you are an administrator who is leaving the company and want to make another employee an administrator, you will want to add the new administrator first, then have the new administrator make your employee profile inactive.
If you are also using our Core module, it is best to set up the user and username in Core first, as Core is the "source of truth" for other modules and allows your employees to navigate between Arcoro modules with a single username.
Only Admins Can Add Admins
Only administrators can add another administrator to Arcoro Time. The "Administrator" role will not be listed in the drop-down menu for non-administrators.
Adding an Administrator
The process for updating an employee will differ depending on whether you are seeing the new Arcoro Unified menu or the Classic menu. Please use the appropriate steps for what you see.
Arcoro Unified Menu
The Unified menu is part of a larger effort to consolidate all of Arcoro's products into a single platform, allowing you to manage your employees from a single place, and will be the foundation of new features. The fields and options available may differ depending on the Arcoro modules in use.
- Click Add next to the search bar to create a new admin
-
If adding a new admin, enter the basic information for the user. Click Add when finished.
-
Person Type - What the user needs to do will determine the type of person:
- Employee - Their employee data goes to all other Arcoro modules immediately, such as Core HR, Arcoro Time, and Talent, as their data must exist within each respective module. Adjust access and permissions as appropriate where defaults do not apply.
- Contractor - Typically for non-employees or those who will only be needed in specific Arcoro modules. No record will be immediately sent to Arcoro products and will require them to be granted appropriate access/permission.
- The username is typically the user's work email.
-
Person Type - What the user needs to do will determine the type of person:
- Click Edit to put the user's profile into edit mode, where you can update their information, access, and permissions. We will only focus on the primary screens, but you can return later to set up other fields.
- Click the "Time" tab.
- Specify the employee's policy group and time entry method. Save your changes when finished.
- Click Access & Permissions.
- Make sure the admin has a username.
- Click Time from the menu on the left-hand side.
- Make sure the employee is "Active" for Arcoro Time. Select "Administrator" for the Web role.
-
Select the appropriate viewset option for the Administrator.
-
All Employees - See all employees within Arcoro web/app.
- If an employee is set to view "All Employees", some options/functions may not be available, such as email reminders for Time Card Approvals.
- Only Themselves - Only see themselves within Arcoro web/app.
-
Selected Employees - See only selected employees within Arcoro web/app.
- If using "Selected Employees," Employee Groups made on Arcoro Web will not appear for the user. They will need to create their crews on their device.
-
Selected Employee Groups - See employees that belong to the selected employee groups within Arcoro web/app. This can be very useful if multiple employees should view identical employees, allowing you to adjust a single group for a viewset instead of individual viewsets.
- For more information about Groups and setting them up, refer to the following dedicated article.
-
All Employees - See all employees within Arcoro web/app.
- Save your changes.
- If the administrator is being granted Arcoro web access for the first time, they will receive an email to confirm the email and set up their password. This email/link will expire after 72 hours. This verification email can be resent from the employee's profile. If this needs to be done, send an invite to the Admin with the steps here.
You can learn more about the Arcoro Unified People menu here.
Classic Menu
-
Go to Manage and click on Employees.
-
If the administrator is already entered as an employee, A. click the pencil icon to the left of their name. Otherwise, B. click Add Employee at the top.
-
The "Add Employee" page allows you to enter a wide range of information about an employee. The minimum requirement for an Employee is their first and last name. All other informational fields are optional and can be updated later.
- The ID field can be useful if you use other systems that assign an Employee ID, such as a Human Resources or Payroll system.
- If you have another employee with the same name, you will need to differentiate between them by either entering a middle name, additional information to their name, or an employee ID.
-
Specify the time tracking method for the employee. If you are unfamiliar with the options, refer to our article here.
- Timecard (punch based)
- Timesheet (time block)
-
Scroll down until you reach the security role section and change the Connect Security Role to Administrator. If the employee does not have an email and username, enter them now. It is best to have the username and email match.
-
Click Save at the bottom when finished. If the administrator is being set up for ExakTime Connect access for the first time, they will receive an email to confirm the email and to set up their password. This email/link will expire after 72-hours. This verification email can be resent from the employee's profile. If this needs to be done, you can refer to How to Resend a Verification Email
- After the Administrator has been added, you can make any further adjustments to their employee profile, such as:
- Viewsets - An employee's viewset determines the employees they can see within the system. By default, any newly added employee can only see themselves/their own data. For more information about updating an employee's viewset, you can refer to the following article.
- If you are leaving the company and want to make yourself inactive, you will need to have another administrator log in to ExakTime Connect and make your employee profile inactive. An administrator cannot make themselves inactive and must have another administrator do it.