Module Navigation

Setting Up Geofence Warnings and Restrictions for Arcoro App

The Arcoro app can warn or restrict your employees when clocking in or out to a location if their mobile device's GPS does not put them within the Geofence of their selected location when clocking in/out for themselves. If you have 'Comments' enabled, your employees can also provide details on why they are outside the Geofence. This can help your employees make the appropriate selection when clocking in/out and alleviate any manual edits needed in the office. 

Table of Contents

 No Warnings/Restrictions with 'Clock For'

GeoFence Warnings/Restrictions will not appear if the employee is clocked in/out with the 'Clock For' function. The 'Clock For' function is intended for supervisors/managers and will not warn/restrict an employee if they are to be clocked in/out outside of a location's GeoFence. For more information about the 'Clock For' function, you can refer to the following article.

Requirements

For an employee to receive warnings or restriction messages when clocking in or out:

Allow Access To Location Services

For us to warn and/or restrict an employee from clocking in or out, the Arcoro app will need permission to access the location services of the mobile device. When first using the app, it will prompt the user for permission if the app can use the location services of the phone. Make sure that "Precise" is selected and press While using the app/Allow While Using App.

If the permission was denied, you can enable the permission through the settings of your phone.

ExakTime_Mobile_and_Device_Permissions__360007811393__iOS_Permission.png

Enable Security Role Permissions

  • Go to Manage and click Security Roles.

    ETC - Menu - Manage - Security Roles - 00.png

  • Click the Mobile tab. By default, we offer Administrator, Supervisor, and Employee. More roles can be created for other groups of employees if necessary. The Administrator role cannot be adjusted.
    UNIFIED - Security Roles - Menu - Web Select - 00.png
  • Click New Role to create a new role or the eye icon to modify an existing role.
    UNIFIED - Security Roles - Menu - Create Edit - 01.png
  • By default, there will be no warning or restriction if the employee is not within the Geofence for their selected location. You can enable any of the following options as needed:
    UNIFIED - Security Roles - Web - Permissions - Geofence - 00.png
    • Warn employees when clocking in/out outside Geofence, or if Geofence is unknown
      • If an employee receives the warning, they will still be able to clock in/out.  
      • Require employees to add comment when clocking in/out - Warning like above, but also require the employee to add a comment if they are clocking in or out outside a Geofence. The employee's comment will appear on their time card with the associated time record for you to review.
    • Restrict employees from clocking in/out outside a known Geofence
      • If an employee receives the restriction message, they will not be able to clock in/out until their device's GPS places them within the GeoFence of the location.
      • If the location does not have any GeoFence, they will not be allowed to clock in/out, as they need to clock in/out within a known GeoFence.
      • It is highly advised to consider federal, state, and local labor laws when using this setting.
      • Consider where employees are when they are clocking in or out. If your employees are expected to park their vehicles in a designated area and then travel to their worksite, they may begin their day outside of the Geofence of a worksite.
  • Save any changes. Repeat this for any other security role that will need permission.
  • If you have created a new security role and are not familiar with assigning a security role, you can refer to the following articles to assign the role through the employee profile or assign the role through the Security Roles page.
  • Your employees will need to sync their copies of the app to receive the new permission. They may also need to log out and back in to see menu changes.

Other Considerations

Location Data & Permission

If the mobile device is unable to provide the Arcoro app with Location Data, it will always give a warning or restrict the employee, depending on the permission enabled.

This can be due to:

  • Lack of location data from the mobile device due to poor reception.
  • The Arcoro app does not have permission to use the location services of the device.

To ensure proper warning/restrictions, you can require the device's location services to be on and/or require a GPS fix before an employee is able to clock in/out.

You can enable/disable these location data requirements via Mobile Settings. For more information, you can refer to the following dedicated article.

Environmental Factors

It can be helpful to speak with employees/supervisors/managers who are familiar with a location when establishing your GeoFence to ensure that the GeoFence encompasses the workplace and a reasonable space around it. Also, take into account the reported GPS location and the actual worksite location.

For example, the GPS location could be associated with an address that is on the street, but the actual worksite could be farther into the property. Or perhaps your employees are expected to leave their work vehicles at a designated location before going to the worksite. This can sometimes confuse employees when clocking in; does their day start when they get out of their truck, or does it start when they step foot onto the worksite?

What Mobile Users Experience

As employees are clocking in for themselves and are selecting a location, any of the following scenarios can occur for the employee:

  1. Employee selects a location with a known geofence and is within the Geofence of the selected location (the Arcoro app will only show a green crosshair icon next to any locations that the employee is within the Geofence of)
    • The employee will proceed to the next step of clocking in.
  2. Employee selects a location with a known Geofence and is not within the geofence of the selected location:
    • If Warning Enabled: The employee will receive a warning that they are outside any known Geofence, and to provide a comment (if enabled). They can ignore the warning and continue the process.
    • If Restriction Enabled: The employee will see a message that they are required to be within a geofence to clock in. They will need to go back and select the correct location. If they are selecting the correct location and are still receiving the message, the geofence for the location may be incorrect and it needs to be corrected.
  3. Employee selects a location without a geofence:
    • If Warning Enabled - The employee will receive a warning that they are outside any known Geofence, and to provide a comment (if enabled). They can ignore the warning and continue the process.
    • If Restriction Enabled: The employee will see a message that they are required to be within a geofence to clock in. They will need to go back and select the correct location. If they are selecting the correct location and are still receiving the message, the geofence for the location may be incorrect and it needs to be corrected.

An example of the warning/restrictions has been provided below:

GeoFence_Warnings_-_00.png

What You See In The Office

If an employee provides a comment for a Geofence warning, you will see the employee's comment in the "Comment" field for that time.

ETC - Timecards - Geofence Comments.png
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful