Users with the appropriate permission on ExakTime Mobile can edit any unsent time records that were made on a mobile device.
This is useful for when a trusted employee, such as a supervisor, needs to correct an employee's clock in/out if they were clock in/out after forgetting to do it, allowing the affected employee to receive the appropriate clock in/out time.
You can also enable the option for an employee to edit time cards on ExakTime Mobile to allow more flexibility when editing time records. For more information, please refer to the following article.
Table of Contents
Setting Up ExakTime Mobile Security Role
The ability to edit records is granted with the appropriate permission within ExakTime Connect in Security Roles.
- Go to Manage and click Security Roles.
- Click the Mobile tab. By default, we offer Administrator, Supervisor, and Employee. More roles can be created for other groups of employees if necessary. The Administrator role cannot be adjusted.
- Click New Role to create a new role or the eye icon to modify an existing role.
- Enable "Edit unsent time records on time record history" in the "Manage" section.
- Save any changes. Repeat this for any other security role that will need permission.
- If you have created a new security role and are not familiar with assigning a security role, you can refer to the following articles to assign the role through the employee profile or assign the role through the Security Roles page.
- Your employees will need to sync their copies of the app to receive the new permission. They may also need to log out and back in to see menu changes.
Setting Up ExakTime Mobile
ExakTime Mobile will try to send off time records after they are made by default. Once they are sent/synced or tried to be sent/synced, the records are considered locked and cannot be edited. If the device attempted to send the records but was unsuccessful, you will still not be able to edit the time records.
To take advantage of this feature, the option to automatically send records should be disabled and the sync interval should be adjusted.
Settings for Sending Records
Time records are sent after they are made by default so the Administrator can receive the time records as soon as possible for review. You must disable the option to send records after they are made.
If you want only specific devices to not send records automatically, then you will need to adjust the settings for ExakTime Mobile on the device directly. You can not use the Mobile Settings option within ExakTime Connect in tandem with this.
- Sign in to ExakTime Mobile with an Administrator level PIN or with the PIN of a user.
- Press the three lines at the top left and press Settings.
- If using iOS, go to General. If using Android, you will see the list of options immediately.
Uncheck the option to send records after the employees clocks in/out.
If all devices should not send the records after they are made, you can use Mobile Settings to standardize the settings for all devices.
- Go to Manage and click on Mobile Settings.
- Enable Mobile Settings if it has not been enabled.
- Disable "Send Records After They Are Made."
- Click Save at the bottom.
- The next time your employees sync their devices, they will receive these settings.
Settings for Sync Interval
The sync interval controls when ExakTime Mobile sends any unsent data (such as unsent time records and field notes) and receives new data from ExakTime Connect (such as new employees and/or locations).
Depending on your sync interval (manually, daily/24 hours, 4 hours, or 2 hours), ExakTime Mobile will check if it has exceeded its sync threshold. If ExakTime Mobile has passed its sync threshold, it will sync its data and lock the unsent records to prevent any edits.
As any manual syncs are also considered for the sync interval, having a set sync interval can result in the device syncing before the user can edit the records. Depending on needs, it can be best to have the sync interval set to manual so your employees have an opportunity to make any time record edits before syncing manually.
For example:
- Your company has a 24-hour sync interval.
- Your employee last synced their device manually at 4 PM the previous day.
- Your employee opens ExakTime Mobile today to edit their records at 4:30 PM. As ExakTime Mobile has exceeded the 24-hour sync interval, it syncs immediately upon opening ExakTime Mobile.
- The records the employee wanted to edit are sent and locked.
- Sign in to ExakTime Mobile with an Administrator level PIN or with the PIN of a user.
- Press the three lines at the top left and press Settings.
- If using iOS, go to General. If using Android, you will see the list of options immediately.
Adjust the sync interval to the desired setting such as each day.
- Go to Manage and click on Mobile Settings.
- Enable Mobile Settings if it has not been enabled.
- Adjust the sync frequency.
- Click Save at the bottom.
- The next time your employees sync their devices, they will receive these settings.
How a User Edits Unsent Time Records
For steps on how a user would edit unsent time records, you can refer to the following article.