Module Navigation

Setting up an Employee to Review or Edit Time on ExakTime Connect

Employees can be given limited access to ExakTime Connect so they can review their time card/timesheet and even approve their time for the day/pay period. Your higher-level employees, such as supervisors, can also be given permission to manage their own or other employees' time within their viewset to they can make the appropriate updates.

You can also allow your employees to review & manage time from ExakTime Mobile. This can be used alongside ExakTime Connect to offer the convenience of ExakTime Mobile with the additional information offered on ExakTime Connect. 

Table of Contents

Set Up Time Entry Method

The time tracking method is selected by an Administrator on ExakTime Connect and determines if they will track and review their time with a time card or a timesheet.

Time cards are typically used by field employees to track when they start and end their workday. Timesheets are typically used by office or salary staff who only need to track how many hours they worked for a given day. 

Learn more about the differences between time cards and timesheets, such as what policies can affect them and what ExakTime Mobile features are available in our dedicated article here.

Granting Permission

The ExakTime Connect Security Role assigned to an employee determines what they can do in ExakTime Connect. The default Employee security role will initially allow access to the "My Time Card" page, but additional permissions can be granted. You can also create additional security roles to grant permission(s) for specific employees. 

  1. Go to Manage and click Security Roles.
    ETC - Menu - Manage - Security Roles - 00.png
  2. The "Web" tab should be the initial tab. By default, we offer Administrator and Employee. More roles can be created for other groups of employees if necessary. The Administrator role cannot be adjusted.
  3. Click New Role to create a new role or the eye icon to modify an existing role.
    UNIFIED - Security Roles - Menu - Create Edit - 00.png
  4. On the right-hand side, look for and enable the appropriate permissions for 'Time Summary, Timecards, & Timesheets' and 'My Time Card/My Timesheet'. The available permissions are detailed below:

    ExakTime_Connect_Permissions_And_What_They_Do__360012908093__Time-Management_01.png

    • Time Summary, Timecards, & Timesheets
      • No Access - No access to "Time Summary, Timecards, & Timesheets".
      • Access All - Allows role member(s) to view, edit, and delete time records. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time cards.
      • View - Allow member(s) to view their time card and not make changes.
      • Edit - Allow member(s) to edit and view time cards. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time cards.
      • Delete - Allow member(s) to delete and view time cards. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time cards.
    • My Time Card/My Timesheet
      • No Access - No access to "My Time Cards/ MyTimesheet".
      • Access All - Allows role member(s) to view, edit, and delete their time. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time or for those tracking their time with timesheets.
      • View - Allow member(s) to view their time and not make changes.
      • Edit - Allow member(s) to edit and view their time. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time or for those tracking their time with timesheets.
        • Employees tracking their time with timesheets may need permission to edit their timesheet so they can track how many hours they worked. In these situations, you may want to consider creating a separate role for those with Timesheets.
      • Delete - Allow member(s) to delete and view their time. This permission is typically used for supervisors/managers who can be trusted to manage their time or for those tracking their time with timesheets.
      • Copy - Allow member(s) to copy their time from one date range to another. This permission is typically for employees who can be trusted to manage their time.
  5. Save your changes.
  6. If you have created a new security role and are not familiar with assigning a security role, you can refer to the following articles to assign the role through the employee profile or assign the role through the Security Roles page.

Employee Connect Resources

You can refer to and provide any of the resources for employees/supervisors on how to use time cards and timesheets.

Time Cards

Timesheets

When the employee signs in to ExakTime Connect, they will see their time card or timesheet like below. They may see other options in the menu bar if you enabled other permissions.

Timecard Timesheet
ETC - TCD - TRA2 - Clean - 01.png
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful