Module Navigation

Setting Up Default Location and Cost Codes for an Employee

Arcoro Time allows you to specify if an employee should have a default location and/or cost code that will be automatically selected when employees clock in on the Arcoro app. You can also allow employees to override the default location and/or cost code so they can adjust accordingly to dynamic changes to their workday.

A default location and/or cost code can also be set up for a copy of the Arcoro app for any employee clocking in for themselves. This can help in situations where an iPad is stationary/mounted at a designated spot, such as at the office. If both the employee and the Arcoro app have a default location or cost code, the employee's default location/cost code will be used. We have detailed additional situations that may arise with default locations/cost codes. 

We also offer an option on the "Mobile Settings" page for your employees to override the default location/cost code if your employees' work day may suddenly change.

Table of Contents

Things to Note

  • These default location/cost code options require ExakTime Mobile Version 2.101 or the current Arcoro app. If your employees are not familiar with the version they have, they can check within ExakTime Mobile.
  • Default locations and cost codes will only apply when an employee clocks in for themselves on the Arcoro app. A user, such as a supervisor or Admin, using "Clock For" from the Arcoro app or adding/editing time records from Arcoro Time will ignore the default location/cost code of an employee.
  • If a default location and cost code are assigned to an employee and the location viewset is updated where the default cost code is no longer in the viewset, the original default cost code will still be used as the location viewsets are only referred to when assigning the default location and cost codes.
  • If you are using the "Clock in to Schedule" option, the location and/or cost code assigned for the schedule will be used instead of the default location and/or cost code assigned to the employee.
  • "Connect Clock" does not use the default mobile location/cost code and will allow an employee to select any location or cost code available.  

Setting Up a Default Location or Cost Code

An employee's default location and/or cost code are set up from their employee profile, so any copy of the Arcoro app will default to the selected location and/or cost code. 

The process for updating an employee will differ depending on whether you are seeing the new Arcoro Unified menu or the Classic menu. Please use the appropriate steps for what you see.

ETC vs Unified.png

Arcoro Unified Menu

The Unified menu is part of a larger effort to consolidate all of Arcoro's products into a single platform, allowing you to manage your employees from a single place, and will be the foundation of new features. The fields and options available may differ depending on the Arcoro modules in use.

  1. Click the eye icon under the Actions column.
    UNIFIED - People - Details - 00.png
  2. Click Edit to modify the employee's profile.
    UNIFIED - People - Edit - 00.png
  3. Click the Time tab.
    UNIFIED - New Employee - Tabs - Nav - Time - 00.png
  4. Specify the default mobile location and/or cost code that the employee should default to when clocking in. When selecting the default cost code, it will respect the location viewset, if any.

    UNIFIED - New Employee - Time - Time Tab - Default Location Cost Code - 00.png

  5. Save your changes.
  6. Your employees will need to sync their apps to see any of these changes.
  7. When your employees clock in, they will see the default location and/or cost code assigned to them from the "Clock In" menu.
    EMA - Default - 01.png

Classic Menu

  1. Go to Manage and click Employees.

    ETC - Menu - Manage - 02.png

  2. Click the pencil icon Time Card - Pencil Icon - 00.png of an employee.

    ETC - Employee List - Edit - 01.png

  3. Scroll down to "ExakTime Mobile and Connect Access" and specify the default mobile location and/or cost code that the employee should default to when clocking in. When selecting the default cost code, it will respect the location viewset, if any.

    ETC - Employee - Default Location Cost Code - 00.png

  4. Save your changes.
  5. Your employees will need to sync their copies of ExakTime Mobile to see any of these changes.
  6. When your employees clock in, they will see the default location and/or cost code assigned to them from the "Clock In" menu of ExakTime Mobile.
    EMA - Default - 01.png

Situations When Using Default Locations/Cost Codes

Default Location Assigned

  • If the Employee has an active default location and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an active default location, ExakTime Mobile will use the Employee's default location.
  • If the Employee has an inactive default location and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an active default location, ExakTime Mobile will use ExakTime Mobile's default location.
  • If the Employee has an inactive default location and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an inactive default location or no default location assigned, ExakTime Mobile will show the location list for the employee to select from.

Default Cost Code Assigned

  • If the Employee has an active default cost code and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an active default cost code, ExakTime Mobile will use the Employee's default cost code.
  • If the Employee has an inactive default cost code and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an active default cost code, ExakTime Mobile will use ExakTime Mobile's default cost code.
  • If the Employee has an inactive default cost code and the copy of ExakTime Mobile in use has an inactive default cost code or no default cost code assigned, ExakTime Mobile will show the cost code list for the employee to select from.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful