Equipment is used to help track how long an employee used a piece of equipment with their time records. Equipment is not enabled by default and must first be enabled and set up by an Administrator.
Table of Contents
Enabling Equipment
- Go to Manage and click on Company Settings.
- Click on the Optional Features tab and enable Equipment.
- Click Save at the bottom.
- After saving, you may need to sign out and back in for the option to appear under Manage.
Permissions for Equipment
Allowing Access to Equipment in the Website
To allow only certain users to access Equipment on the website, you can tailor the ability within Security Roles. Administrators will have permanent access to this by default.
- Go to Manage and click on Security Roles.
- The "Web" tab should be the initial tab. By default, we offer Administrator and Employee. More roles can be created for other groups of employees if necessary. The Administrator role cannot be adjusted.
- Click New Role to create a new role or the eye icon to modify an existing role.
- Enable Equipment, Management Equipment Types, and Equipment Custom Fields in the "Manage" section as needed under the "Tools & Communications" section.
- Save your changes.
- If you have created a new security role and are not familiar with assigning a security role, you can refer to the following articles to assign the role through the employee profile or assign the role through the Security Roles page.
Allowing Permission to Add and Track Equipment from Mobile
You can allow certain Mobile users the ability to add new equipment and track equipment usage.
- Go to Manage and click on Security Roles.
- Click the Mobile tab. By default, we offer Administrator, Supervisor, and Employee. More roles can be created for other groups of employees if necessary. The Administrator role cannot be adjusted.
- Click New Role to create a new role or the eye icon to modify an existing role.
- Enable "Equipment" under the "Add" section.
- Save any changes. Repeat this for any other security role that will need permission.
- If you have created a new security role and are not familiar with assigning a security role, you can refer to the following articles to assign the role through the employee profile or assign the role through the Security Roles page.
- Your employees will need to sync their copies of the app to receive the new permission. They may also need to log out and back in to see menu changes.