Module Navigation

Guide to Settings on ExakTime Mobile

The Settings of ExakTime Mobile allow you to change how ExakTime Mobile can function and/or how some information is viewed. Any changes made to settings on a device are unique to the device and will not affect other copies of ExakTime Mobile.

Some ExakTime Mobile Settings can only be adjusted by employees with an ExakTime Mobile Administrator role or equivalent. For more information about ExakTime Mobile security roles, you can refer to the following article. If the employee does not have permission to edit preferences, they will only have limited access to Settings such as how entities are displayed and sorted.

 Consistent ExakTime Mobile Settings

You can also use "Mobile Settings" from ExakTime Connect to ensure that all copies of ExakTime Mobile have the same settings. For more information about this, you can refer to the following article.

Navigating to Settings

Press the three lines ( ☰ ) towards the top left of ExakTime Mobile and press Settings from the menu.

EM_-_Menu_-_Settings_-_00.png

General Settings

If using iOS, you will need to press General to access the general settings first. If using Android, the General Settings will be presented in a list.

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_01.png

Crew Confirmation

When a crew is clocked in/out via Clock For, a list of employees in the crew will be shown where you can add or remove employees to be clocked in/out. This will not permanently change the crew and will only affect the immediate clock in/out.

If an employee should be part of a crew permanently, then the original crew should be adjusted from ExakTime Connect/Mobile.

EM_-_Clock_For_-_New_-_05.png

Sync

ExakTime Mobile will try to automatically sync when ExakTime Mobile is open on the Time Clock Screen based on the previous sync. This can be set to every 24 hours/Daily, 2 hours, 4 hours, or manual only. This will update the list of active employees, locations, cost codes, etc., and any permissions for employees.

Ask for Out Location

While an employee is clocking out, they will be asked for their location. This can help when employees are expected to end their day at a specific location, such as dropping off a company truck at the office. If no Stop location is specified, the Stop location will use the starting location of the time record. 

EM_-_Mobile_Settings_-_Stop_Location_-_00.png

Require Fix for Clock In/Out

Before an employee can clock in or out for themselves, ExakTime Mobile must receive an acceptable GPS coordinate to associate with the time punch.

  • If there is no usable GPS data, the employee cannot clock in/out.
  • It can help to determine if an employee's worksite could affect reliable GPS data as basements, large buildings, etc. can affect GPS data.
  • The Clock For function will ignore Location Service requirements.

EM_-_Mobile_Settings_-_GPS_-_00.png

Require Location Services

ExakTime Mobile must have permission to access Location Services and Location Services must be enabled for the employee to clock in/out for themselves. The Clock For function will ignore Location Service requirements.

EM_-_Mobile_Settings_-_Location_Services_-_00.png

Send After Clock In/Out

After an employee clocks in or out, any unsent records will be automatically sent. If unsuccessful, it will save the record to try again on the next clock in/out or sync.

Log Out After Clock In/Out

After an employee successfully clocks in or out, ExakTime Mobile will log out the employee to the number pad. This is most useful for devices that will be shared at a location so employees can pass around a device in the morning and afternoon.

Employees will not automatically log out if they have permission to adjust ExakTime Mobile Settings or Clock For.

Crew & Clock In/Out Comments

When an employee clocks in/out for themselves or when clocking in/out for a crew, a comment to their time record for review in ExakTime Connect.

EM_-_Comments_-_00.png

Notifications

The Notifications section allows you to specify which types of notifications you want to receive through ExakTime Mobile. 

EM - Settings - Notifications - 00.png

Settings Unique to Android

The following settings are currently unique to Android:

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_02.png

  • Clock In Confirmation - When an employee clocks in, the location and cost code selection will be shown for the employee to confirm is correct.
  • Camera Rotation - Used to ensure that the front-facing camera is oriented properly when taking and saving a photo. By default, this is set to Automatic, but can be set to Manual. This setting is available to all users.
  • FaceFront Preview and FaceFront Photo - Rotation for the front-facing camera if the Camera Rotation has been set to Manual.

List Settings

The following settings change how information is displayed and for certain settings, what information will be used. These settings can be accessed by all users unless indicated otherwise. If using iOS, you will have to press the appropriate option to view the sttings. If using Android, the settings will be presented in a list.

Employee Settings

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_03.png

  • Display Order - Show employee names as Last Name, First Name or First Name Last Name.
  • Show - Show the employee name, employee ID, employee name then ID or employee ID then name.
  • Sort By - Sort the employee by their last name or first name.

Location Settings

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_04.png

  • Show - Show the location name, location ID, location name then ID, or location ID then name.
  • Sort By - Sort locations by their name or ID.
  • Default - Specify a default location to be used by all employees using the device. When clocking in, the default location will be used. This is useful for a stationary device that employees will be sharing and the location will not be changing. This setting can only be accessed by an Administrator or a user with permission to adjust ExakTime Mobile settings.

Cost Code Settings 

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_05.png

  • Show - Show the cost code name, cost code ID, cost code name then ID, or cost code ID then name.
  • Sort By - Sort cost codes by their name or ID.
  • Default - Specify a default cost code to be used by all employees using the device. When clocking in, the default cost code will be used. This is useful for a stationary device that employees will be sharing and the cost code will not be changing. This setting can only be accessed by an Administrator or a user with permission to adjust ExakTime Mobile settings.

Equipment Settings

EM_-_Android_-_Settings_-_06.png

  • Show - Show the equipment name, equipment ID, equipment name then ID, or equipment ID then name.
  • Sort By - Sort equipment by its name or ID.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful